Skip to content
Select Page
ae flag

Study in the UAE

UAE September 2026 and Fall 2026

Compare accredited universities and international branch campuses across the seven emirates, then review entry requirements, tuition, visa sponsorship, living costs, scholarships and student life before applying.

Dubai & Abu Dhabi Hubs Tax-Free Income International Campuses Career Opportunities
103Institutions
2,094Programs
AED 30,000From/Year
Dubai international higher-education providers reported 169 nationalities in 2022-23; this is not a UAE-wide figure.Nationalities
Dubai private higher education: 35.2% international students in 2024-25; this is an emirate-level indicator, not a UAE-wide total.Intl. Students

Free UAE Study Guidance

Free service. By submitting, you agree to our Privacy Policy.

103
Listed Institutions
2,094
Study Programs
AED 30,000–AED 120,000
Annual Tuition Range
Allow several weeks end to end
Visa Processing Time

ae flag
About Studying in UAE

The United Arab Emirates combines federal and emirate-level higher-education oversight with public universities, private institutions and international branch campuses. Students can find programmes across business, engineering, computing, artificial intelligence, health, design, media, hospitality and other fields. Quality and recognition must be checked at institution and programme level. The Commission for Academic Accreditation licenses institutions and accredits programmes within its remit, while local regulators also oversee parts of the sector, including higher-education providers in Dubai free zones. Applicants should verify the current status of the exact institution, campus and programme before paying a deposit.
Commission for Academic Accreditation (CAA) — National institutional licensing and programme accreditation within its remit. Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research — Federal higher-education oversight and qualification-recognition services. KHDA / UQAIB in Dubai free zones — Local quality assurance and certificate-attestation context for relevant Dubai providers. Emirate-level oversight where applicable — Authorities such as ADEK and the Sharjah Council also have higher-education roles.
Capital Abu Dhabi
Language Arabic is the official language; English is widely used by universities and in daily business.
Currency AED
Academic Year Generally August/September to May/June, usually divided into fall and spring semesters; calendars vary by institution.
Intakes Fall intake commonly begins in August or September. Many institutions also offer a January spring intake, while summer, rolling or additional starts are programme-specific.
Intl. Students Dubai private higher education: 35.2% international students in 2024-25; this is an emirate-level indicator, not a UAE-wide total.
Work Rights A student residence permit does not provide unrestricted work rights. Eligible students may train or work where the employer obtains the appropriate MoHRE student training and employment permit; non-national students need a valid UAE residence visa and the other required documents.

Why Study in UAE?

A broad institutional mix

Choose among national universities, private institutions, specialist academies and international branch campuses.

Regulated study choices

CAA and relevant local regulators provide institution, programme and quality-assurance information that students can verify before enrolling.

English-taught programmes

Many institutions offer programmes in English across business, technology, engineering, health and creative fields.

Industry-connected environment

National higher-education policy and classification place emphasis on employability, labour-market alignment, research and innovation.

Multiple student cities

Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Al Ain and other emirates offer different campus settings, budgets and lifestyles.

International student community

Dubai's private higher-education data illustrates a large international branch-campus and international-student presence.

🏆
UAE by the Numbers

5
Five Group 1 research institutions
37
International campuses in Dubai
35.2%
International-student share in Dubai private HE
706
Programmes in Dubai private HE

📚
Programs in UAE

See all 12+ programs →
Program Level:
Showing 12 programs
Program Institution Duration Tuition Intake Actions
Bachelor of Science in Computer Science Bachelor  Computer Science & IT University of Kalba Not specified AED 2,529 per credit hour Open
View
MASTER OF PROJECT MANAGEMENT Master  Business & Management Hamdan Bin Mohammed Smart University Not specified Open
View
ASSOCIATE DEGREE of ARTS AND SCIENCES UG Diploma/ Certificate/ Associate Degree  General Studies Experiential College Not specified Open
View
DIPLOMA OF HIGHER EDUCATION LAW UG Diploma/ Certificate/ Associate Degree  Law Middlesex University Dubai Not specified Open
View
BACHELOR OF BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION IN ACCOUNTING Bachelor  Business & Management Abu Dhabi University 4 years Open
View
Postgraduate Diploma in Business Administration PG Diploma/Certificate  Business Administration University of Bradford Embedded exit award within the Executive MBA; separate duration not published Open
View
HIGHER DIPLOMA IN AIRCRAFT MAINTENANCE TECHNOLOGY – AVIONICS UG Diploma/ Certificate/ Associate Degree  Engineering & Technology Abu Dhabi Polytechnic Not specified Open
View
STYLISTE DESIGNER MODE Bachelor  Arts, Design & Architecture ESMOD French Fashion Institute Not specified Open
View
Master of Science in Medicinal Chemistry Master  Pharmacy Ras Al Khaimah Medical and Health Sciences University 1.5 years Open
View
Bachelor of Police Sciences Bachelor  Public Safety Police Sciences Academy- Sharjah Not specified Open
View
BACHELOR OF SCIENCE IN ANESTHESIA TECHNOLOGY Bachelor  Health Sciences Dubai Medical University Not specified Open
View
EXECUTIVE MASTER IN STRATEGY, LEADERSHIP AND DEFENCE STUDIES Master  Law ESCP Business School – Dubai Campus 12 months Open
View
Search

No programs found

Try adjusting your search or filters.

💰
Cost of Living & Visa

Monthly Living Costs

AED 4,000–10,000 per month, excluding tuition

Food and groceries
AED 900–1,700 / month
Local transport
AED 140–600 / month
Personal, study and leisure
AED 460–1,100 / month
Student Visa Guide
Visa guidance

A foreign student may study under the sponsorship of an accredited university or college, or under an eligible UAE-resident parent's sponsorship. Universities commonly facilitate the process. Applicants should obtain the institution's current visa checklist and itemised fee quote, then complete entry permit, medical, biometrics, Emirates ID and residence steps as instructed by the sponsor and immigration authority.

Processing time

Allow several weeks end to end

Visa fee

Government charges are only part of the total. A representative 2026 university-sponsored package is AED 7,068.10-10,074.10, including a refundable AED 3,000 deposit, insurance and universit…

🧭
Student Life & Practical Guidance

Health Insurance

Valid health insurance is listed among the documents for student residence issuance. Coverage and responsibility vary by sponsor, institution and emirate. Before paying, confirm the insurer, provider network, territorial coverage, annual limit, exclusions, co-payments and exact start and end dates.

After Graduation

There is no blanket automatic post-study work permission for every graduate. A graduate must maintain or obtain a valid immigration status, such as employer-sponsored residence, or may consider the 60, 90 or 120-day jobseeker visit visa if eligible. ICP currently states that student residents may remain for up to 180 days after completing the study period, subject to the applicable rules.

Student Safety

Follow UAE laws, university conduct rules and official alerts; use licensed transport, take precautions during extreme heat and keep copies of identity and insurance documents. In an emergency, call 999 for police, 998 for ambulance or 997 for fire services. Students should also monitor official travel advice relevant to their nationality and current regional conditions.

Al Ain

An inland study centre within Abu Dhabi emirate with established universities and a quieter campus-city setting than the two largest coastal cities.

Ras Al Khaimah

Offers university and specialist study options in a smaller-emirate setting. Check campus transport and programme accreditation carefully.

Umm Al Quwain

A smaller higher-education market. Verify the current active institution and programme list and plan for limited local choice compared with larger emirates.

Abu Dhabi

The federal capital offers research-intensive, public, private and international institutions. Students should compare island and mainland housing, commute time and sponsor arrangements.

Dubai

The largest international branch-campus cluster in the country. KHDA reported 41 private higher-education institutions and 42,026 students in 2024-25; housing and commuting can be major budget drivers.

Sharjah

A major university city with broad academic offerings and student housing options. Confirm commute needs if living across the Dubai-Sharjah boundary.

Ajman

A compact northern-emirate option with general and specialist institutions. Compare total housing and transport rather than assuming the lowest tuition or rent.

Fujairah

An east-coast study location with a smaller institution base. Confirm programme availability, housing supply and transport before committing.

🏆
Scholarships & Financial Aid

Admission Requirements

Undergraduate

Completed secondary education meeting programme grade and subject prerequisites; English-language evidence where required; attestation, equivalency and certified translation may apply to foreign certificates.

Master's

A recognised bachelor's degree in a suitable field, required GPA, English-language evidence and any programme-specific experience, portfolio or prerequisite courses.

Doctorate

A recognised relevant master's degree, strong academic record, English-language evidence and programme-specific research proposal, interview, supervisor or publication requirements where applicable.

All applicants

Entry requirements, deadlines and deposit rules differ by institution and programme. Applicants educated outside the UAE may be asked for attested school certificates, equivalency evidence and certified translations. Submit only through an official institution channel, keep written copies of admission, scholarship, refund and visa terms, and do not assume a conditional offer guarantees visa issuance.

All international applicants

Passport, academic records and required translations or attestations; some programmes also require tests, a portfolio, interview, medical fitness or professional approval.

✏️
How to Apply

1
Shortlist recognised options

Check the institution, campus and exact programme in CAA and/or the relevant local regulator directory.

2
Prepare and attest documents

Arrange passports, transcripts, certificates, translations, attestation or equivalency as required.

3
Submit through the official channel

Complete the institution's application before its deadline and pay only published official application fees.

4
Accept and secure the place

Meet the offer conditions and pay the authorised deposit only after understanding the refund policy.

5
Register and begin study

Complete final document checks, course registration, orientation, fee payment and right-to-study requirements.

Frequently Asked Questions

The UAE offers national universities, private institutions, specialist academies and international branch campuses across several emirates. It can suit students seeking English-taught options and an international environment, but the right choice depends on programme recognition, total cost, visa sponsorship and personal academic goals.

Abu Dhabi is the capital. Arabic is the official language, and English is widely used in universities and daily business. The currency is the UAE dirham (AED), which the official fact sheet states is pegged to the US dollar at USD 1 = AED 3.6725.

Yes, many universities and international branch campuses offer programmes taught in English. The language of instruction and required IELTS, TOEFL or other evidence are programme-specific, so applicants should verify both before applying.

Check the institution's current licensing status and the exact programme's accreditation in the Commission for Academic Accreditation directories where applicable. For Dubai free-zone providers, also check the current KHDA directory and certificate-attestation guidance. Recognition can depend on institution, campus, programme and intended country of use.

There is no single national fee. Representative published undergraduate examples reviewed for this workbook range from about AED 46,515 to AED 128,695 per academic year. Medicine, dentistry, specialist programmes, deposits and incidental charges may be outside that range. Always use the exact programme's current fee schedule.

A practical planning range is about AED 4,000-10,000 per month excluding tuition, from shared student housing to a standard single-room lifestyle. Location, room type, included utilities, transport and personal spending can move the total significantly. This is an indicative planning range, not an official UAE average.

Options include university-managed or partner residences, shared student housing and private rentals. Compare deposits, contract length, utilities, internet, furnishings, campus transport and refund rules. Private leases must be registered with the relevant emirate authority, and landlords or brokers may require a valid residence visa and Emirates ID.

Fall intake commonly starts in August or September, and many institutions also offer a January spring intake. Summer, rolling and additional starts depend on the programme. Use the programme's published calendar rather than a country-wide deadline.

Applicants normally need completed secondary education meeting programme grades and subject prerequisites. English-language evidence, attestation, certificate equivalency, certified translation, tests, interviews or portfolios may also apply. Exact rules depend on the institution, programme and school curriculum.

They may. The UAE Government states that foreign school certificates used for equivalency must be attested, and documents not in Arabic or English must be legally translated and duly attested. Applicants should follow the institution and authority checklist for their specific curriculum and status.

Shortlist recognised programmes, confirm entry requirements and costs, prepare the required documents, apply through the institution's official portal, review the offer and refund terms, pay the authorised deposit, and then follow the sponsor's visa, insurance, housing and enrolment instructions.

A foreign student may be sponsored by an accredited university or college, or by an eligible parent who is a UAE resident. Universities commonly facilitate the process, but the exact route and requirements depend on the student's situation and sponsor.

Core items include a passport valid for at least six months, a personal photograph, university enrollment confirmation, an acceptance or hosting letter stating the programme and duration, and valid health insurance. Medical, biometrics, Emirates ID, attested education documents and sponsor-specific forms may also be required.

Allow several weeks for the full journey. One 2026 university example quotes 14 working days for a normal pre-arrival entry permit and 4-5 weeks after arrival. ICP lists two days for the residence-permit service once a complete application reaches that stage, but sponsor review, medical, biometrics and additional checks add time.

Government charges are only part of the total. A representative 2026 university-sponsored package is AED 7,068.10-10,074.10 and includes a refundable AED 3,000 deposit, insurance and university or service charges. The selected institution should provide a current itemised quote.

Valid health insurance is listed among the documents for student residence issuance. Sponsor and emirate arrangements differ, so students should confirm the insurer, provider network, exclusions, co-payments, annual limit and coverage dates before paying.

Student residence alone is not unrestricted permission to work. Eligible students may train or work where the employer obtains the appropriate MoHRE student training and employment permit. Non-national students need a valid UAE residence visa and the other required documents.

Graduates must maintain or obtain a valid immigration status. ICP currently states that student residents may remain for up to 180 days after completing the study period, but this is not permission to work. Eligible graduates may also consider an employer-sponsored residence route or a 60, 90 or 120-day jobseeker visit visa.

Many universities publish merit awards, need-based support or tuition discounts, but eligibility, renewal GPA, excluded fees and application steps differ. Government scholarship schemes may be limited to UAE nationals or defined groups, so international applicants should verify institution-specific funding.

There is no single best city. Dubai has the largest international branch-campus cluster; Abu Dhabi has major research and international institutions; Sharjah and Al Ain have established campus communities; other emirates can provide smaller settings. Compare the programme, recognition, total cost, housing and commute.

From anywhere in the UAE, call 999 for police, 998 for ambulance and 997 for fire services. Students should also save their university security, accommodation and insurance assistance contacts.

Recognition is not automatic everywhere. It depends on the institution, campus, programme accreditation, mode of study and the rules of the country or professional body where the degree will be used. Verify this before enrolment with the UAE regulator and the receiving authority.

The UAE Government states that family members of foreign university students may stay in the UAE when the student can afford suitable housing, subject to the applicable immigration conditions. Applicants should obtain current sponsor-specific guidance before making plans.

Outstanding students and graduates may qualify under specific Golden Visa categories and evidence requirements. It is not automatic for every student. Check the current government criteria and obtain official guidance for the relevant category.

Confirm annual tuition, application and registration fees, deposits, VAT or incidentals, books and labs, visa and insurance, accommodation, transport, utilities, meals and refund rules. Ask for an itemised written estimate for the first year and later years.

🏛️
Universities in UAE

See all 103 →

📚
Programs in UAE

See all 2094+ →

A university discovery and application platform connecting international students with verified participating institutions.

© 2026 Univs LLC, trading as Univs.com · All rights reserved

Essential storage keeps security, account routing, and your saved preference working. Optional measurement is disabled unless you choose to allow it.