University of Lapland is recorded as an active universities institution in the official Finnish Studyinfo organisation register. Its registered municipality is Rovaniemi. This profile presents source-supported registry information. The accompanying programme inventory is partial; current recruitment, delivery locations, admission requirements and applicable fees must be confirmed with the provider. Applications through Univs remain closed.
University highlights
- Finland's northernmost university and a specialist centre for Arctic research and expertise.
What makes this institution stand out
- Students can combine Arctic perspectives with law, education, tourism, social sciences, art and design.
- Its Rovaniemi location provides direct context for studying northern environments, cultures and communities.
Why Study at University of Lapland?
Officially recognised Finnish university within the national higher-education system. Quality assurance is externally evaluated through the Finnish Education Evaluation Centre (FINEEC) audit framework.
| Program | Degree | Duration | Tuition | Intake | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arctic Indigenous Cinema, Master of Arts (Art and Design) (2 years), University of Lapland | Master | 2 years | — | — | |
| Arctic World Politics, Master of Social Sciences (2 years), University of Lapland | Master | 2 years | — | — | |
| Audiovisuaalisen mediakulttuurin koulutus, taiteen maisteri (2 v) | Master | 2 years | — | — | |
| Audiovisuaalisen mediakulttuurin koulutusohjelma, taiteen kandidaatti ja maisteri (3 v + 2 v) | Not specified | 5 years | — | — | |
| Doctor of Arts, postgraduate degree, 210 credits | Doctorate | 4 years | — | — | |
| Doctor of Education, postgraduate degree, 210 credits | Doctorate | 4 years | — | — | |
| Doctor of Laws, postgraduate degree, 180 ECTS credits | Doctorate | 3 years | — | — | |
| Doctor of Social Sciences, postgraduate degree, 210 ECTS credits | Doctorate | 3 years | — | — | |
| Erilliset erityisopettajaopinnot 60 op | Not specified | 1 years | — | — | |
| Erilliset opettajan pedagogiset opinnot 60 op | Not specified | 1 years; 6 months | — | — |
No programs found
Try adjusting your search or filters.
Tuition fees and scholarship information coming soon. Contact the university for details.
Masters Degree
- Bachelors Certificate
- Bachelors Marks Sheet
- Passport
Not specified
- Passport
Doctorate
- Bachelors Certificate
- Bachelors Marks Sheet
- Masters Certificate
- Masters Marks Sheet
- Passport
Non-EU/EEA students usually need a residence permit for studies lasting more than 90 days. Higher-education degree students can receive a continuous A permit under the current rules.
Proof of financial means: At least €800 per month; for one year, €9,600 must normally be available when the first permit application is submitted. Unpaid tuition requires separate funds.
Valid passport: Present the passport during identity verification and attach the required copy.
Passport photo: A compliant passport photo or photo retrieval code; the photo must meet the current age and format rules.
Admission certificate: Certificate of acceptance or attendance from the Finnish educational institution.
Proof of funds: Normally a six-month bank statement and evidence of at least €800 per month for living costs.
Insurance certificate: Private insurance covering medical and pharmaceutical expenses unless an accepted exemption applies.
Tuition or scholarship evidence: Documentation showing paid tuition or a scholarship; unpaid tuition funds may need to be shown separately.
Translations and legalisation: Arrange certified translation or legalisation when Migri or the institution requires it.
Minor applicant documents: Applicants under 18 may need a birth certificate and parent or guardian consent.
Usually about 1 month; some cases take up to 3 months
First permit: €600 electronic or €750 paper. For a minor: €400 electronic or €430 paper.
University of Lapland is a recognised Finnish university with operations in Rovaniemi. Its principal focus includes Arctic studies, art and design, law, education and social sciences.
English-taught options may be available, but the portfolio and intake change by year. Confirm the exact programme, eligibility, tuition and application route on the institution's official site and Finland's Studyinfo service.
For institution representatives
Represent University of Lapland?
Manage your institution’s verified information on Univs.
Institution access is granted only after verification. Student reviews remain independent of institution representation on Univs.
✎ Suggest a University Update
Add missing content or correct existing information. Every suggestion is verified before publication.
